Can the iPad 3 give you eternal life?

If you didn’t already know the iPad 3 comes out today and I am super pumped about it! (Full disclosure: I’ve saved Christmas money until now to buy one!) There is a ton of buzz around it, as always, because Apple really knows how to make you feel that you MUST have one in your electronic arsenal. This device may do many amazing things but it can not give you eternal life (Sorry to burst your bubble).

As I was reading my Bible this morning I came across the story of the rich young ruler:

 Luke 18:18-23

A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?” “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. You know the commandments: ‘Do not commit adultery, do not murder, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.’” “All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said. When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was a man of great wealth.

This story always amazes me because this guy sees what he owns as greater than eternal life. Did you catch that? ETERNAL LIFE, for-ev-er (say it like you are in the Sandlot). So many times I am so focused on what is right in front of me instead of eternity. For example, I’ve been talking and thinking about the iPad 3 more than before because I can finally get one. However, everyone around me is probably thinking “Rahul, is this all you care about?” The rich young ruler was known for…being rich, not for following the commandments, not for sacrifice, not for loving God above all else. He was not willing to give away the things that define him.

The old cliche says, “If you look at your checkbook then you will see where your heart is.” I think we need to take a step further. Henry Blackaby puts it this way,

What others know you for is a good indication of what your heart values most.

When people look at your facebook page, what do they know you for? When you are in conversation what are you known for? As you hang out with friends what are you known for?

p.s. I am really excited about possibly getting an iPad 3 but more excited that a student I’ve never met was saved in my office on Monday!

Leave a Reply

