Are you hungry?

The Word of God

I’ve been listening to the Elevation Church’s Code Orange Revival podcast lately. Not only are these messages inspiring but I am amazed to hear how hungry the people of the church are for the Word. I gauge a good message by a couple of things but the two main things are:

1. Does it inspire life change?
2. Does it create a hunger for the Word?

Last Spring Break we took a team of about 14 college students to Louiseville, KY. During our time there we visited a, what I like to call, “hipster” church. Where everyone wears scarves, carries satchels and loves art. (disclaimer: you know it’s true!) Most of the time these churches are heavy on worship and the arts and light on Scripture and teaching. However, Sojourn church was different. After the message every single one of our students (including me) wanted to go back to the floor we were sleeping on and read and memorize Romans 8. I was highly impressed. The true test was the rest of the trip, would the desire end that night or would it keep going throughout the week? Amazingly, I heard conversations as we fixed up the homeless shelter about things like:

  • We are free from condemnation! Praise the Lord! v. 1
  • We no longer are under our sinful nature but we follow the Spirit! v. 4
  • The Spirit of God that raised Jesus from the dead lives in us! v. 11
  • We are adopted as God’s own children into His family! v. 15

These students had a hunger for the Word that did not end…even when we got back to Florida!

My question to you is “Are you hungry?” Do you have a hunger for the Word? Do you go to church because you have to or because you get to hear the Word of God preached? When I speak my goal is to inspire the two things mentioned above. When I hit that goal, the same thing happens to me. I want to change my life because of what God has done for me and I want to get even deeper into the Word even though I just spend 6-8 hours studying it!

Psalm 119:105
Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.

Does the Word of God guide your path? Are you excited to study it for yourself?

2 Timothy 3:16-17
All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.

God uses His Word to teach us how to live as well as equip us. When you read it you feel the presence of the Holy Spirit because it sets your mind to be guided by Christ and not your own flesh.

Hebrews 4:12
For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires.

Have you spent time daily in the Word? Have you studied it, not just read it? I love the John MacArthur Bible Studies to help me study the Word of God and to create in me a hunger for it when I am having a dry season. Or you can go to our free Bible Studies page.

What do you do to stay hungry?

Leave a Reply

