Drinking – Guest: My wife Annie!

Lately, my wife and I have been dealing with drinking as a problem for our students (college students and drinking? That never comes up! ya right!) So she wrote this and I wanted to share it with all of you.

I was doing my devo and reading through some verses in Ephesians and I came across 5:18 “Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead be filled with the Spirit.”

I knew this was some more of God’s perfect timing, especially after some face to face and phone call conversations I’ve been having this week… so I looked it up for further info in the commentary- what it says- well, I wanted to share:

“In our N. American culture, such a command seems almost shocking and unnecessary, since total abstinence is the rule among so many Christians. But, we must remember that the Bible was written for believers in all cultures and in many countries, wine is still a fairly common beverage on the table. The Scriptures do not condemn the use of wine, but they do condemn it’s abuse. The use of wine as a medicine is recommended (Prv. 31:6, 1 Tim. 5:23). The Lord Jesus made wine for use as a beverage at the wedding in Cana of Galilee (John 2:1-11).
But, the use of wine becomes abuse under the following circumstances and is then forbidden:
1) When it leads to excess (Prv. 23:29-35)
2) When it becomes habit forming (1 Cor. 6:12b)
3) When it offends the weak conscience of another believer (Rom. 14:13; 1 Cor. 8:9)
4) When it hurts a Christian’s testimony in the community and is therefore not to the Glory of God (1 Cor. 10:31)
5) When there is any doubt in the Christian’s mind about it (Rom. 14:23)

WOW! Don’t you agree with everyone of those 5 statements?!!
I loved 4 and 5 especially because they are more reflective of ourselves- “If I hurt my testimony for Christ- forbidden…If it doesn’t bring Glory to God… forbidden… If I have ANY doubt in my mind- forbidden!” Wouldn’t it be easier to gloss over ourselves and only focus on others in this issue? However, the Word of God doesn’t allow it!

The recommendation Paul makes is to instead by filled with the Spirit. There’s alot on this, but I love these 2 statements:
1) In the case of drunkenness, there is a dissipation and debauchery. The Spirit’s filling NEVER produces these.
2) In the case of drunkenness, there is a LOSS of self-control. But the fruit of the Spirit IS self- control.

Anyways, I thought this was good stuff to chew on and pray over. Hope it speaks to your hearts, as it did to mine!
Love,
Annie

8 thoughts on “Drinking – Guest: My wife Annie!

  1. Annie,

    Great thoughts on one of those issues that will always be present for those of us who are and work with young folks. I remember a book I was reading in which the author came across his pastor in a grocery store. The pastor was buying a bottle of wine for His wife and him to share during a home cooked Italian dinner. What was strange to the author is that the pastor thought He had to explain his wine usage to this member of his congregation. Without prodding from the author, the pastor said, “My wife and I are just going to have a glass with dinner.” As if by buying a bottle of wine, the pastor was afraid this member of the congregation was going to scream “SINNER” from the mountaintop. This may be a classic example of #4 and #5 where the pastor is unsure about using it and the affect it has on his personal witness and its affect on others. It is certainly a debate that will probably continue until Christ returns. I, for one, hopes when he does return, he will bring some of the wine he made at that wedding. After all, it was the best wine ever.

  2. Awesome job! What do we believe and why? Way to use to God’s word and apply it responsibly! It is our authority.

  3. Great post, Annie.

    There is another relevant point for most college students: If you’re not 21, it’s ILLEGAL! Romans 13:1, 1 Peter 2:13, etc.

  4. Hey Annie:

    What a great way to present God’s truth about drinking !! I liked the way you itemized each thought, and the reason. It would help me to present it to my single mom’s ministry too.

  5. Annie, Good thoughts. And may I also add the context of these verses…all of Ephesians 5 has good advice and reminders—
    but I’ll leave it with verse 15 & 16 just prior to the “Do not get drunk…
    “Be very careful, then, how you live–not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is…”
    I am reminded of Andy Stanley’s comments that for a believer, it is no longer what is right and wrong…we have a higher calling to “what’s the wise thing to do?…in light of my past history, my present situation, and my future hopes…”
    It’s all about pleasing HIM…not man, whether in the church or outside the church.
    Arlene

Leave a Reply

