Are you an enabler?

I am going through Ephesians with the guys I am discipling on leadership and came across this passage (Ephesians 4:11-18). I’ve always said that my desire (and job) is to work myself out of a job. These verses confirm what I’ve said all along (yes, I know Mcfly! The Bible has been around a lot longer than I have). Christ gave me a gift of being in ministry through being a pastor/teacher/director to college students. My responsibility is not to do the work but to “equip God’s people to do His work and build up the church, the body of Christ.”

Why?

  • To unify the people of God in faith and knowledge (v. 13)
  • To mature the people of God so they will not be deceived (v. 14, 2 Peter 2:1-3)
  • To grow more like Christ to speak the truth in love (v. 15)
  • To help each other do their own “special work” that helps others grow (v. 16)

I am an enabler.

Leave a Reply

