I am so confused and can’t say anything…while I’m praying

Lately I’ve been trying to pray. I’m not saying that I don’t but for some reason I haven’t been able to get words out. This lack of verbiage to God has been happening for a good bit of time and it was driving me nuts. Notice I said “was.” As I was reading today in Romans 8:26-27 I noticed something:

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

I’m weak right now…don’t know why. My words aren’t coming out (which is not a sign of being weak in your walk with Christ). However, Paul was weak during this time and explains that we really don’t know how to talk to God. I mean how many stinking times do you have to say someone’s name in a conversation before they get annoyed. But, the Spirit doesn’t even use words to intercede for us, He uses groans. And through those groans God gets our prayers. He knew that we would struggle with this because sometimes we do our best to say the right prayer. But if the Spirit is in you, God already knows your prayer. My mouth might not be able to express what I want God to hear but my heart’s desire is what the Spirit relays to our Lord.

Thank you God for hearing my prayers even when I don’t verbally express them. I feel like a burden has been lifted. I will just sit silently and listen for your voice now.

Leave a Reply

