Windows 7?

A couple of weeks ago I received a “Windows 7 party pack” in the mail. This giant box screamed super cheezyness to follow… it was. The box had Windows 7 bags (which make great grocery bags, they are solid!), streamers, coupons, branded logos and playing cards (seriously, I can’t make this up). However, it also had a Windows 7 Signature Ultimate Edition enclosed as well (both 32 and 64 bit)! I’ve been wanting to upgrade since Vista and Photoshop were not working well together for me.

I popped the dvd in and bought a new 1TB hard drive (not because of Windows 7 but because my wife is a photographer, crazy 5MB pictures!). When the loading screen came up, I was so worried that, like previous Windows installations, I would have to do multiple formats and installations due to errors. I clicked through two screens, typed in my key, skipped activation and said start installing. Through other installs I knew I would have to sit there for a little bit until the process finally started. So I went to check on my kids super quick (well, super quick as in 20 minutes to stop fights, bathroom messes, etc.) and sat down at my computer. When I looked up Windows 7 was running. I looked at the clock, yup 23 minutes. I sat there dumbfounded for about 2 minutes trying to figure out if this was a trick.

I started playing around…it worked. I couldn’t believe it, so I went to my device manager expecting to see a bunch of yellow exclamation marks (this means that hardware was having an issue). Only one was there, for my wireless adapter. Got the driver from my laptop and it worked super fast! The stinking thing hasn’t crashed since (even Vista crashed on day one from Dell)…and it is so fast! I know I know, it is a new installation but for real. With installations being faster, file transfers from backups faster, navigating faster, I am happy! I’ll keep you updated but I am very impressed with Windows 7. It helps that I got it for free but as a professor I also get it for $15!

Have any of you played with Windows 7 yet? What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Windows 7?

  1. Its nice and much better than vista but they didn’t hit the A+ mark. there still a few menus and settings boxes that haven’t changed at all since windows 95 and need to be updated to the 7 style.

    performance wise it is better than vista but not quite xp, but then again xp was a bigger hog than windows 98 bug computers have gotten so fast now that most won’t notice anything.

    One of the most in depth looks at it is this review- http://arstechnica.com/microsoft/reviews/2009/10/windows-7-the-review.ars

Leave a Reply

